• Maryland Integrated Science Assessment (MISA) is Maryland’s new NGSS-aligned standardized science assessment. MISA replaces the MSA Science and HSA Biology tests in all Maryland schools and will be phased in beginning in 2017.

    Elementary and middle school students take the MISA in Grades 5 and 8. High school students take the MISA after successfully completing high school coursework in all three main science disciplines: earth/space science, life science (biology), and physical science (chemistry and physics). Most students will take the MISA in Grade 11.

    MISA Timeline

    2016–17 and 2017–18 School Years

    • All Maryland students in Grades 5 and 8 will participate in MISA field testing (no individual scoring).

    2018–19 School Year

    • High school students will first take MISA, but will not be required to pass. Individual MISA scoring begins for Grades 5 and 8.

    Class of 2020

    • MISA participation will be a graduation requirement for the Class of 2020.

    Class of 2021 and After

    • Beginning with the Class of 2021, a MISA pass score will be a graduation requirement for all cohorts. Pass scores will be set by the Maryland Department of Education (MSDE).