Elementary Scope and Sequence

  • The following links are intended to share the general scope and sequence for each grade level.  The scope and sequence outlines the general topics that are taught in connection with the Maryland State Department of Education approved content standards. 

    Please note that social studies is taught in the 2nd and 4th marking periods.  Units 1 and 2 occur in the 2nd marking period, and units 3 and 4 occur in the 4th marking period.  The days identified on the scope and sequence are merely a means of ordering content.  For example, lesson 4 will not necessarily happen on day 4 for the marking period.  The pacing needed for the class, field trips, assemblies, and other things can and will alter the timing.


Grade 1

Grade 2

Grade 3

Grade 4

Grade 5